BWA Programs

Bright Futures Award Program

In 2006, The Black Women's Agenda, Inc. (BWA) established the Bright Futures program, honoring a student or group of students whose academic achievements and service to school and community distinguish them as future leaders and success stories. The recipients are nominated and selected by the BWA executive board, saluted at the Annual Symposium & Luncheon, and presented with a grant to support their efforts.

Past recipients of the Bright Futures Award include:

2015: Maya Kryslan McFadden, Jonesboro, GA
2014: Nija Nelson, Upper Marlboro, MD
2013: Ronnise Denitra Owens, Conyers, GA
2012: Claire Brittany Crawford, College Park, GA
2011: Aisha Davis, Lanham, MD
2010: Tony Hansberry II, Jacksonville, FL
2009: Alexandria Sutton, Baltimore, MD
2008: Amina DeSelle Massey, Eden Prairie, MN
2007: Erica E. Holland, Annapolis, MD
2006: Spelman College Spelbots*

*The Spelman College robotics team was the first all-female, all-African-American and only undergraduate team to compete in both the United States and International RoboCups competition. Members of the team included Ebony Smith, Andrea Roberson, Kina McCanns and Ashley Johnson.

Hide Thumbs First Previous Pause Next Last
Slideshow speed: 5 seconds
Bright Futures
Bright Futures


"The Black Women's Agenda, Inc."
5335 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W. Suite 440, Washington, DC 20015-2052
Office: 202.730.2637 Fax: 202.730.2638 Email:

Designed and developed by VIVO360, Inc.